Kings Boost Attendance, Lose Money Due To COVID-19

DAUPHIN, MB - For the second straight season the Dauphin Kings boosted their attendance at Credit Union Place, but the club saw a slight loss on the financial side thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Kings held their Annual General Meeting Thursday evening at the Parkland Rec Complex in Dauphin.

The team saw their attendance increase to 20,294 in 2019-20. Well over 2,000 more than in 2018-19 (17,996). However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic the team lost $10,766.00.

With the pandemic forcing the cancellation of the MJHL playoffs in March the Kings lost significant revenue from at least one more home playoff game and the team's annual Spring Camp which usually happens sometime in April or late March.

Director of Business Operations, Christian Laughland, presented the crowd with a PowerPoint Presentation which mapped out the 2019-20 season and a look ahead to 2020-21. You can see some key numbers on the right!

Some Notable Numbers In 2019-20 (Revenue)

Fundraising - $207,487
Sponsorship – $142,989
Ticket Sales – $135,232
Game Night Revenue – $77,432
Other Revenue – $19,218

TOTAL REVENUE = $582,358

Some Notable Numbers In 2019-20 (Expenditures)

Advertising – $23,011
Billets – $54,933
Dressing Room – $10,165
Equipment – $58,207
Ice & Facility Fees – $45,734
Team Travel – $84,190
Wages & Benefits – $125,152


TOTAL LOSS = $10,766


The Dauphin Kings' lone change on the board this year is the one of President which sees Dean Cooley stepping down after six years on the Board of Directors.

Ashley Shaw will take over as the team's President moving forward. Shaw is the first female President in the team's history.

The Kings would like to take this time to thank Dean Cooley for all his years and time spent with the club. Cooley was a key piece to improving the team both on and off the ice along with helping the Kings reduce their overall debt in the past number of seasons.

With these adjustments all board positions on the Dauphin Kings Board of Directors are filled.


Dean Cooley - President


Ashley Shaw - President