Kings Fall Short In Neepawa

NEEPAWA, MB – The Dauphin Kings and Neepawa Natives played a chippy affair Friday with the Natives coming out on top 6-4. 

Both clubs bounced back and forth when it came to momentum, but in the end it was Neepawa pulling out with the two points. 

In the opening period saw both teams play well. The Natives opened the scoring just over 12 minutes in but the Kings responded when Daniel Chartrand notched his 16th of the campaign. 

In the second period Dauphin gained the lead when Keaton Leininger (23) scored on the Power Play. Neepawa, however, would go on to score three unanswered to take a 4-2 advantage after 40 minutes. 

The final period saw the Kings get within one when Riese Gaber (13) scored just under six minutes in. The momentum was short lived though as the Natives regained the two goal lead less than a minute later. They would go on to make it 6-3 before Leininger go the Kings back to within two with his 24 of the season. 

Duncan McGovern (1-7) suffered the loss in net, stopping 26 of 32 shots while his team put 33 on the Neepawa goal. 

Andrew Liwiski took part in his second game as a Dauphin King. The local D-man snagged his first MJHL point with an assist on Riese Gaber’s goal in the final period. 

Power Plays were in favour of the Natives on Friday. Neepawa had nine man advantages, scoring on just one while the Kings had eight and scored on two of the chances. 

Dauphin’s record moves to 16-36-7 with the loss. The club will look to regroup as they get set for their final game of the season Saturday night in Winnipeg. Game time against the Blues is 7:00pm!


Neepawa Natives at 12:21 (SH) John McCammon from Ashton Anderson


Dauphin Kings at 16:32 Daniel Chartrand from Graeme Hore and Matthew Greening


Dauphin Kings at 8:04 (PP) Keaton Leininger from Matthew Greening and Kyle Oleksiuk


Neepawa Natives at 9:11 Josh Sielsky from Braeden Binda and Noah Carson


Neepawa Natives at 10:05 Nolan Richards from Jordan Martin and Griffin Chwaliboga


Neepawa Natives at 11:34 Josh Sielsky from Justin Metcalf and Skyler Thorsteinson


Dauphin Kings at 5:59 Riese Gaber from Matthew Bartel and Andrew Liwiski


Neepawa Natives at 6:41 Justin Metcalf from Josh Blondeau


Neepawa Natives at 16:40 (PP) Skyler Thorsteinson from Nolan Richards and Kruz Listmayer


Dauphin Kings at 18:40 (PP) Keaton Leininger from Colin MacDonald