Flyers Edge Kings

WINKLER, MB – The Dauphin Kings kicked off 2017 with a 3-2 loss to the Flyers in Winkler Tuesday night. 

It was a back and forth affair early on with the two teams trading goals in the opening period. Grady Hobbs (4) had Dauphin’s lone tally in the first when he jammed a puck home from the side of the net. The goal tied things up at one after 20 minutes.

You could argue the Kings lost the game in the second period with the Flyers scoring two unanswered goals to put themselves ahead 3-1 after 40 minutes. The period had numerous shenanigans including a knee on knee hit to Dauphin forward Riese Gaber that was not called a penalty. Despite being in pain on the ice for a couple minutes Gaber returned to the tilt later in the period. 

In the third the Kings played a bit better, and got to within a goal of the Flyers. However, even though they had a number of chances they were unable to finish and ended up losing 3-2. Keaton Leininger (11) had Dauphin’s other goal Tuesday.

The Kings remain bitten by the injury bug and skated with just five D-men on the night. 

Brandon Holtby played well for Dauphin in the losing effort. The inflated Winkler shot clock saw the Flyers outshoot the Kings 51-16. 

Both clubs finished Tuesday night with two Power Plays. Winkler went 1 for 2 while Dauphin ended the evening 0 for 2.

Lynden McCallum and Jaymes Knee both made their Kings debuts. Both played well and had a couple scoring chances each. They both will now return to the Manitoba AAA Midget Hockey League’s Brandon Wheat Kings. 

The loss puts the Kings at 9-22-5 on the season. With a Swan Valley win in Virden Dauphin now falls six points out of the MJHL’s final playoff spot. The Kings and Stampeders will face off Saturday night at Credit Union Place. Opening face off is 7:30pm and the game sponsor is Kal Tire!


Winkler Flyers at 4:18 (PP) Braden Billaney from Connor Hamonic and Lawson McDonald


Dauphin Kings at 7:32 Grady Hobbs (unassisted)


Winkler Flyers at 9:20 Mitch Dyck from Coltyn Bates


Winkler Flyers at 11:02 Tanner Lewis from Scott Gall and Tyler Jubenvill


Dauphin Kings at 2:16 Keaton Leininger from Ashton Clark